Zenfolio | Tripping the Light | East Java
East Java is a province of Indonesia. It is located on the eastern part of the island of Java and includes the neighbouring islands of Madura, and the Kangean, Sapudi, Bawean, and Masalembu groups. The dominant cultures are Javanese and, in the north-east,Madurese, as opposed to the Sundanese of western Java. Its capital is Surabaya, the second largest city in Indonesia and a major industrial center and port. It covers an area of 47,922 km2. It has a land border only with the province of Central Java to the west, being surrounded by sea on all other sides.